Skip to main content

About Belfast

Belfast is one of Europe’s most vibrant and beautiful cities, packed with history, culture, exciting events, world-class dining and superb shopping, there is something for everyone.

Places to visit

Ulster Museum - http://www.nmni.com/um

Come face to face with dinosaurs, meet an Egyptian Mummy and see modern masterpieces with a visit to the Ulster Museum. As Northern Ireland’s treasure house of the past and present, the museum is home to a rich collection of art, history and natural sciences and free to all visitors.  From Ireland to the South Pacific, ancient relics to hands on activities, the museum offers something for everyone from the simply curious to the enthusiast.

Botanic Gardens http://www.belfastcity.gov.uk/parksandopenspaces/parks/botanicgardens.asp

Botanic Gardens is an important part of Belfast’s Victorian heritage and a popular meeting place for residents, students and tourists. It contains two important buildings, the Palm House and the Tropical Ravine, as well as a children’s playground, a bowling green, walking routes, a rose garden and assorted tropical plants, mature trees and flower beds.

Crescent Arts Centre- http://www.crescentarts.org/

The Crescent Arts Centre is one of Northern Ireland’s premiere community arts centres. Established in 1984, the Crescent Arts Centre is a gateway for the people of Belfast and beyond to access the best in a variety of dance, arts and cultural activities.

Lyric Theatre –http://www.lyrictheatre.co.uk/

From first rehearsal to final curtain, the shows at the Lyric are truly indigenous products of Northern Ireland.  Putting local issues and local characters centre stage is what the Lyric does best. The shows are relevant to local audiences and revealing to visitors to the city.

Titanic Belfast – http://titanicbelfast.com/

Titanic Belfast is the world's largest visitor experience and is a "must see" visit in any tour of Belfast and Northern Ireland. It is located in Titanic Quarter, right beside the historic site of this world-famous ship's construction. Housed in an iconic, 6-floor building, this state-of-the-art visitor experience tells the story of the Titanic, from her conception in Belfast in the early 1900s, through her construction and launch, to her famous maiden voyage and tragic end.

For more ideas please visit  http://www.gotobelfast.com/things-to-do

Places to eat

For a city the size of Belfast the choice of places to eat is surprising. There is everything from fine dining, brasseries and bistros to gastro pubs, cafes, coffee shops and some of the best fish & chips around.  For more information please visit:

http://www.gotobelfast.com/things-to-do/category/eating-out

Shopping

With high street stores, family owned businesses, designer boutiques and markets,  shopping in Belfast is fantastic. For more information please visit:

http://www.gotobelfast.com/things-to-do/category/shopping

Victoria Square - http://www.victoriasquare.com/

Castle Court - http://www.castlecourt-uk.com/

Forestside  - http://www.forestside.co.uk/